is the procedure when a person is arrested?
arrested in Escambia County or any arrestee transported to Escambia
County is taken to the Central Booking and Detention facility
and booked. The booking process includes: medical screening, photograph,
fingerprints, classification assessment, telephone calls and temporary
housing assignment prior to First Appearance Court. The arrest
is permanently recorded and bail is set depending on the charges.
Personal possessions, valuables and money is collected, inventoried
and bagged for storage. Arrestee receives a receipt for all stored
an inmate required to pay any fees while in jail?
Subsistence fees are charged to each inmate to offset the cost
of inmate incarceration to the taxpayer. It is the policy of the
Escambia Sheriff’s Office to charge inmates subsistence
fees in accordance with Florida Statute 951.033.
do the subsistence fees include?
is a one-time charge per admission of $20.00 for clothing and
linens, which is charged to the inmate at the time he/she
is issued uniforms and linens.
2. A daily charge of $3.00 for meals.
if an inmate cannot afford to pay the subsistence fees?
will receive daily meals, uniforms and linens regardless of their
ability to pay. Subsistence fees will be charged to the inmate’s
money account. If he/she has money in his/her money account, the
fees will be deducted from the balance. If the inmate does not
have any money in his/her account at the time the fees are charged,
a lien will be placed against the inmate’s account for the
amount due. The fees will be collected as money is deposited into
his/her account. A lien may also be placed against any of the
inmate’s personal property as well.
if the inmate is not sentenced or is acquitted or discharged on
all charges? Does he/she still have to pay the subsistence fees?
will be reimbursed for the daily charge he/she paid. A disposition
from the Clerk of the Court will be required from the inmate prior
to reimbursement of funds. This reimbursement is not an automatic
process, but will be addressed when a former inmate makes a request
and produces the disposition of the Clerk of the Court no later
than thirty (30) days from his/her date of release.
there any exceptions to the subsistence fees?
1. Inmates assigned to the Work Release Program are exempt from
the daily fee of $3.00. These inmates are currently paying
daily subsistence fees as established by the Work
2. When the court orders a lien against an inmate’s funds,
such orders will take precedence over the collection of the daily
3. If an inmate is returned from state prison as a witness in
a trial other than his/her own.
4. Non-sentenced inmates who have volunteered and are assigned
to the County Road Prison or inmate worker status are covered
by Florida Statute 925-08 are exempt from
the daily fee of $3.00.
5. The initial subsistence fee of $20.00 will not be charged to
the inmate if the deduction of this fee would prevent him/her
from bonding out of jail.
an inmate required to pay medical fees while incarcerated?
All inmates will be assessed a medical fee for reimbursement of
the cost for services rendered in the following categories:
- Doctor Sick Call
- Dentist Sick Call
- Psychologist Sick
- Mental Health Counselor
Sick Call $ 5.00
- Nurse/EMT Sick Call
- Initial Prescription
- Prescription Refill
service fees will be charged to the inmate’s bank account.
if the inmate cannot afford to pay fees, will he/she be denied
the inmate’s account will be charged for the service. If
he/she later receives money into his/her account, the fees will
be subtracted from his/her balance.
smoking allowed in the jail?
is prohibited in jail facilities. All tobacco products, matches
and cigarette lighters are considered contraband and are confiscated
and destroyed. Inmates found in possession of smoking materials
are subject to disciplinary action. Introduction of contraband
articles into a county detention facility is a third degree felony.
visitation allowed in the jail?
are encouraged to receive visitors from outside the facility.
the Main Jail and the Central Booking and Detention facility inmates
may receive two (2) adults and one (1) non-walking child at scheduled
visitation and are limited to one hour in duration, twice weekly.
are advised to arrive 45 minutes before the scheduled visitation
and have a valid picture I.D.
do I address mail to an inmate?
include the following information:
Inmates full name and housing assignment
P. O. Box 17800
Pensacola, FL 32522-7789
Can I send money to an inmate?
Yes. Money is placed in an
account which inmates can use to purchase commissary items. Please
note: Initial Subsistence - $20.00 one-time fee and the daily
subsistence - $3.00 a day also comes out of this account. Money
must be in the form of a money order addressed to: INMATE TRUST
FUND FOR (INMATES'S NAME, INMATES #).